St. Michael’s College Annual Prize Giving

Brandon Horan with President Sembs

St. Michael’s College, Enniskillen hosted their Annual Prize Giving Night on Thursday 28th November. I was gratefully asked to attend and present the award to Brandon Horan.

St Michael's, Enniskillen captured their first All-Ireland Schools title with a 1-12 to 1-11 win over Naas CBS.

  • A goal from Darragh McBrien and seven points by Micheal Glynn earned the Fermanagh side a Hogan Cup victory in their third Croke Park appearance.
  • Naas recovered from four points adrift to trail by a one during a tense finish to the game but St Michael's held out to clinch a deserved success.
  • Glynn struck the post with his first free of the match, but the centre-forward's unerring accuracy proved the difference between the sides during a cagey opening half in which both teams struggled to adjust to the open expanses of Croke Park.
  • Naas were first on the scoreboard with a well-taken score by Eoin Conneff but Glynn responded with his first successful free and his jinking run down the right wing set up Josh Largo-Ellis for a superb point just moments later.
  • The Kildare side regained the lead with the opening goal when Conneff anticipated Sean McNally's short kick out and the corner-forward fired into the roof of the net.
  • Another Glynn free settled the St Michael's nerves and from the kick out captain Brandon Horan won possession and found McBrien in space - the wing-forward burst through a tackle before rolling a cool finish past the Naas goalkeeper for an stunning goal.
  • Paul McKervey curled over an excellent point and Glynn converted another two frees as St Michael's eased into a 1-6 to 1-4 lead at the break.

St Michael's, Enniskillen scorers: M Glynn 0-7, D McBrien 1-1, C Love 0-2, P McKervey 0-1, J Largo- Ellis 0-1.

Naas CBS scorers: E Conneff 1-2, M McGovern 0-4, P McDermott 0-2, E Archbold 0-1, T O'Connor 0- 1, S Murphy 0-1.